Skip to content

To the east, part IV: Sculpture and scooters

September 25, 2009

This is outside a classy shopping mall in Roppongi.


I love the contrast between super modern and traditional Japan.

Even the play equipment looked like modern sculpture in Roppongi!

This sculpture in Ueno Park made me want to touch it.

Probably don’t have to introduce this one. It’s outside the Western Art Museum in Ueno Park. We have a matching one in San Francisco!

The outside of Design Festa, in Harajuku. If it hadn’t been for the crazy exterior I never would’ve noticed it and been compelled to walk down a random side street to go inside.

Time for a confession: I have a little bit of a scooter obsession. I geek out just a little over them, especially Vespas. One of the best things I ever did was sell my car and buy a Vespa GTS 250. There were tons of scooters in Tokyo, and I especially liked the ones modified for specialized delivery or transport, because we don’t have those in San Francisco or the US at all, really. Japan doesn’t seem to have many Vespas, however. The two below were shop props and may not even be operational, and I only saw one or two Vespas being driven.

Not a great picture because it was taken from a bus window, but I had to include these ridiculous KFC delivery scooters.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bess permalink
    September 30, 2009 11:39 am

    There were TONS of vintage vespas (not new ones, however) in Southeast Asia, much to my surprise. I wonder why not in Japan?

Leave a Reply

