Skip to content

Fragments

September 26, 2009

Excited about Martha Stewart’s illustrated instructions for how to fold different types of bows. So many possible uses!

A friend who was moving across the country gave me a Twinkie pan earlier this year, and I’m feeling the need to use it. I’m thinking I’ll try this recipe from King Arthur flour , or maybe this one from Joy the Baker or this one. Holy crap, the King Arthur recipe takes 7 eggs! In regards to the filling, it says, “Do not overfill, or the cake will burst,” which makes me picture a Twinkie violently exploding with creamy goodness. Because of the egg issue and the fact that I don’t want to go out and buy marshmallow cream, I’m thinking of using the King Arthur filling with the Joy the Baker cake. Anyone out there have any Twinkie-making advice to offer or recipes to recommend?

Just made slow cooker vegetable stew and whole wheat cornbread. Coming home to delicious smells wafting down the hallway that get stronger as I open my apartment door is heavenly. I was kind of skeptical of the whole wheat cornbread, but thought I’d give it a chance. I halved the recipe and only cooked it for 20 minutes in an 8×8 pan, and it is surprisingly wonderful.

I’m thinking I’d like to take a photography class to improve my (non-existent) skills. I wonder if this photo 101 class would be worth it. Have you ever taken a photography class, or would you like to?

I know I don’t have many comments yet, but please feel free to jump in. Don’t be shy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bess permalink
    September 30, 2009 11:37 am

    I am going to take a woodworking class this winter. I took a photography class in college and it was really fun. That’s how I found out about Holgas.

    -twinkie pan friend

    • October 1, 2009 11:05 pm

      A woodworking class sounds fun! What are you going to make?

  2. Bess permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:50 am

    I don’t know what we’ll make in the class. You get to use their tools for free after the class is over. I’d really like to make a rocking chair.

Leave a Reply

