Skip to content

My scooter says mod, but my heart says rocker…

October 17, 2009

Earlier this year I was flipping through magazines in a big chain bookstore when I came across issue 41 of metro.pop magazine, the “mods vs. rockers” edition. I bought a copy mainly because I was trying to figure out what my next hair cut should be like, and I was intrigued by the model’s hair in the “love me true” feature. Since I couldn’t find the pictures online I scanned them.

Could I get my hair to do this? Should I? What sort of products and magical hairstyling abilities would it require? Would it look good even after being squished under a helmet? Would it look good even without Amy Winehouse-worthy amounts of black eyeliner? All important questions!

Also, does anyone want to give me $500 to buy one of these helmets? Please?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 6:06 pm

    Wow, those helmets are amazing. Had no idea they’d be $500, though. Yikes. Shows how much I know about moto accoutrements. I will say that once upon a time I had that girl’s haircut and looking at those photos makes me want it all over again.

  2. October 19, 2009 11:42 pm

    Whoa, I can’t imagine you with that haircut! Got any old photos lying around?

    Most helmets aren’t nearly that expensive. Those are actually even pricier than I remembered (but so cool!) Check this out–I just discovered that that shop collaborated on helmet designs with Eley Kishimoto: http://unlockparis.blogspot.com/2009/06/les-ateliers-ruby-x-eleykishimoto.html
    Karl Lagerfeld: http://www.notcot.org/post/21421/
    And Martin Margiela: http://www.oki-ni.com/View-All-Martin-Margiela/Martin-Margiela-Helmet/invt/mm0285wht

    I’ll take one of each, please.

Leave a Reply

