Skip to content

Zipper spats

October 19, 2009
tags: , ,

So, did you get that memo about the zipper trend this season? Yeah, zippers are everywhere. Including on these $1495 Guiseppe Zannotti for Balmain booties. Which, you know, I could buy, but then I would have no money left for rent. Or food. And I really don’t need another pair of shoes in my closet right now, plus making things is more fun anyway.
The inspiration:
Image from shopbop.com
I wish I knew where this image is from. I think I might’ve saved it from another blog that got it from style.com, but I can’t remember. Sorry for the poor blogging etiquette.

These are my black short boots. I think that the ankle is too high and loose to wear them with anything other than pants, but for ease of viewing I’m wearing them with tights right here.
Before:

Using four metal zippers (two per foot), vinyl, and some elastic, I made myself some zipper spats this weekend.
After:

Side by side:

The top and middle zippers are still functional, but the bottom one is not. I’m considering possibly adding more zippers and/or modifying the design a little so I could adjust the ankle zipper to be wearable with things other than these boots. Right now it’s too loose to wear on my bare ankle. A tutorial is also a possibility, if anyone is interested. Shoot me a comment, otherwise I probably won’t bother.

One Comment leave one →
  1. kiriko permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:05 am

    now these are totally cool… tutorial please

Leave a Reply

