Skip to content

Magical Little Toadstool

November 2, 2009
tags:

For some reason I find little spotted mushrooms very charming. Maybe it’s because I’ve never seen one in real life, but they’re common in illustrated fairy tales. To me they represent a land of enchantment where fairies are hiding just behind the next mossy tree. When I saw this pattern I decided to crochet one. The only problem being that I’m not very good at crochet and every time I do it I have to look at books to refresh my memory of how to do the stitches. Which is why it wasn’t too surprising to me when I thought mine wasn’t going to turn out right. It mostly did, though the cap isn’t as domed as the one in the pattern picture.

I even learned how to do a french knot to make the spots!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 10:18 am

    cuuuuuuuuuuuuute!!!! tiny sweet little mushroom–i love it! now just multiply it by 3000 and you’ll have a footstool :)

    • November 13, 2009 3:52 pm

      At my glacial crocheting speed I’d be done in a million years! I think I’ll wait for your non-crocheted version :-)

Leave a Reply

