Skip to content

Tutorial Tuesday: Shoe Jewelry

December 1, 2009

I first became aware of shoe and ankle jewelry earlier this year when local ladies LitterSF started getting a lot of press. Lacking the ability to drop cash on something that I could easily make, I naturally started thinking of ways to make my own version. Since then tons of people have jumped on the shoe jewelry boat, including the glamourai (though she says she was inspired by the Lanvin spring 2010 runway show, seen here). Zana of Garbage Dress is also working on some boot adornments, though of a different variety. Spats and shoe jewelry are in the air, I’m telling you! Here’s my take on the trend.

Materials:
Leather or vinyl scraps
Chain or bracelets
Jump rings
Studs
X-acto knife
Scissors
Pliers
Measuring tape

Methods:

1. Cut out two pieces of leather 5 inches by 1 inch. I used thick leather scraps for this project because I wanted them to be able to hold up the studs and not flop around too much.

2. Decide on your stud placement and mark with chalk. I used six conical studs (three per shoe).

3. Use the X-acto knife to cut slits and place your studs. Bend down the prongs in the back with the pliers. Repeat for all six studs.

4. Make a tiny hole in each of the four corners of each leather piece. Do this on a safe surface like a chunk of wood, lest you stab yourself in the finger like I did initially. Don’t worry, it was actually more like just a poke, with a tiny bit of blood.

5. Put a jump ring through each of the eight holes. Leave the jump rings open for now.

Pause to try to take pictures of your cat’s tongue mid-lick. Don’t have a cat? Just look at my cat’s tongue!

6. Each of the bracelets I used was about 8 inches long, so if you’re using chain just cut four lengths this size. If you’re using bracelets, remove the fasteners from two of the bracelets and attach them to the jump rings on the leather as shown.

7. Now take one of the intact bracelets and remove the loop or ring from one end and attach that end of the bracelet to a jump ring on the leather. Take that loop and attach it to the last jump ring on the leather. This probably makes a lot more sense in photo form.

When you’re done they should look like this:

8. Put on your boots and prance around. Also note that you can wear them backwards, with the studded leather part on the back.

I’m looking forward to trying these out with non-boots, as well.

Looking for more tutorials and DIY projects? Check out my What I Made page!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. KATE permalink
    December 7, 2009 6:31 pm

    Okay, I have to ask–what kind of boots are those? I love the round toe and wingtip-ish detail!

    • December 7, 2009 11:16 pm

      Thanks! Those are the very reasons I fell in love with the boots and had to buy them. They’re by the brand ‘One of 2,’ but I bought them a couple of years ago.

Leave a Reply

