Skip to content

Arizona

December 5, 2009

Sorry for the slow posting the last couple of days. I’ve been dealing with a frustrating laptop malware/spyware problem that’s been eating up a lot of time lately. Anyway, today I thought I’d share the pictorial highlights of my Thanksgiving trip to Arizona.

When I say that my grandmother lives in the middle of nowhere, I mean it. Her house literally backs up to National Forest land, and her most common visitors are cows, jackrabbits, and javelinas. This is her yard:

There isn’t enough water to support trees big enough to hold up this hammock, so it’s attached to posts.

Here’s the view from the hammock:

There is a computer in one of the bedrooms in the house, and on the wall above it hangs a painting. One afternoon this young tarantula came crawling out from under the edge of the picture frame. He was easily the largest spider I’ve ever seen outside of a zoo.

My boyfriend Steven volunteered to pose near the spider for scale, but refused to get any closer when it was suggested that the spider might be getting ready to jump. What a wimp. My fearless grandma caught the spider under a cup and transferred him outside, where he hid behind a cactus.

Finally, I made a polenta pizza for Thanksgiving dinner to substitute for the turkey because I don’t eat meat. It actually looks better than it tasted–it was rather dry and lacking in flavor. At least I got a funny photo out of it, however.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

