Skip to content

Tutorial Tuesday: Spiked Headband

December 22, 2009

This was supposed to be the tutorial for last week. Even though I was flying across the country last Tuesday, I thought I’d be able to get this posted. But life got in the way, in the form of a trip to Florida to visit Steven’s family. A pre-holiday trip, because plane tickets were much less expensive the week before Christmas.

If my mother was Danielle Steele and expense was not an issue, I could dress like socialite Vanessa Traina here and buy a totally ridiculous spiked Givenchy crown.

Instead I made my own version. A little less spiky and a little more wearable, it’s a nice little finishing touch to spice up a boring outfit. Plus, as summarized in this post from The Mid Wasteland, spiked headbands are a bit of a trend.



Materials:
Silver vinyl (my fabric is not actually vinyl but some mystery silver-coated fabric that I got at SCRAP)
Sharpie or other pen
Ruler
Studs (I used a mixture of pyramid and conical studs)
Elastic
Pliers
X-acto knife
Glue gun

Methods:
1. Cut a strip of vinyl 18 by 1.5 inches.

2. Decide on your stud placement and measure and mark where you’ll put the studs. I marked the center, then measured 1.5 inches out for each one, alternating pyramid and conical spikes.

3. Fold over the edges of your vinyl to the wrong side and glue in place to create a hemmed edge. I actually don’t really like glue guns (I know, craft blasphemy!), but I had to use one for this project because the fabric I was using couldn’t be ironed without damaging the metallic silver (I tried).

4. Using the X-acto knife and pliers, put in your studs on the spots you marked.

5. Wrap the vinyl part of the headband around your head and figure out how long to cut your elastic. My piece was about 5 inches long, but yours may vary if your head is larger or smaller. On the wrong side, fold up one end of the vinyl and place a piece of elastic on top. On the right side, place a stud through the layers of vinyl and elastic to hold everything in place.

Repeat on the other end so they look like this:

6. Folding under the raw ends, use the glue gun to attach a piece of ribbon to the underside to protect your head from the metal of the studs.

7. Crown yourself!

Using different sizes or styles of spikes (studs and spikes has tons), it’s easy to imagine how to vary the headband to more closely resemble Givenchy’s. Or come up with your own configuration–that’s part of the fun of DIY!

Looking for more tutorials and DIY projects? Check out my What I Made page!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tanya permalink
    June 10, 2011 3:16 pm

    I love that…I’m definitely going to make myself one. I may just cover a cheap headband and use jewels instead of studs.

Leave a Reply

