Skip to content

Weekend Wear (and a resolution)

January 6, 2010

This weekend we went to Urban Ore, a salvage/junk warehouse in Berkeley. It was a fun and productive trip–we found some practical items we were looking for and some random treasures. Plus, we came across this ferocious guy outside.

“What’s that? You want me to look at your teeth?”

“No, don’t try to eat my head!”

Everything I’m wearing is thrifted, except for the tights, which I think are from Target, and the jacket, which is from TJ Maxx.

I always get at least one compliment from a stranger on those boots, and this time was no exception. A girl in Urban Ore mentioned that she loved them and had seen some similar ones recently at a flea market, but she didn’t buy them because she didn’t think she’d have the guts to wear them. I told her to work up her courage and go for it. But it got me thinking about fashion risks. Wearing bright pink boots doesn’t scare me, but in a lot of ways I’m rather fashion-risk-averse. Most days of the week (except the weekend) I end up wearing jeans and a boring shirt, which although it is the uniform of the status quo, feels pretty frumpy to me. Sometimes I consider wearing something more interesting and even put it on, but usually I end up changing back to my old uniform because I start overthinking what other people will think of my sartorial choices. Totally silly, and I know I shouldn’t care, but I do. I’m sure everyone, even the most seemingly fearless dressers, second-guess themselves to some extent. Personally, I would rather see someone dressed a little outlandishly than another girl in Ugg boots and sweatpants. So what if the sweatpants-clad population thinks I’m dressed pretentiously or even ridiculously? I don’t particularly care for what they’re wearing, either.

As a belated New Year’s resolution I vow to stop worrying so much about how I’m perceived and take more fashion risks. To do this I need to get out of my rut and get excited about my wardrobe. I already did a closet purge and sold a bunch of stuff at the Wasteland and Buffalo Exchange, but there are still more items that I don’t really wear because I don’t totally love them. I want to get rid of them and fill my closet with clothes I love and look forward to wearing, regardless of what anyone else thinks.

Got any style aspirations or words of advice you’d care to share? If you need more inspiration, here are the fashion resolutions of some stylish San Franciscans.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 8:36 pm

    Every girl should feel comfortable wearing bright pink boots. It definitely works for you.

  2. January 8, 2010 10:25 pm

    I agree, and thank you!

Leave a Reply

