Skip to content

Links I like

January 8, 2010
tags:

Wow, Resurrection Fern has an amazing and inspiring set of tutorials.

This weekend I need to write thank you notes for Christmas presents! My mom used to make us do that for every gift and while I won’t go so far as to write her a thank you note for it, I must admit that it is a good habit to have. She instilled me with a terrible sense of guilt if I am so graceless as to forget. I wish I could say that I was using cute cards like these or these, but mine are just from a drugstore.

Lately I’ve been wanting to try screenprinting, so I looked up a couple of screenprinting tutorials, here, here, and here. It doesn’t look too tough, or is it harder than it looks? Anyone done true DIY screenprinting and care to share any tips?

These slippers look so cute and cozy! Since I’m crafty, I wonder how hard it would be to make my own. And would they turn out that cute?

Sometimes I get cravings for completely impractical (for my lifestyle) and ridiculously expensive things, like these black snakeprint cut-out booties. Where would I wear them? Oh I dunno, around the house I guess. Maybe with this Tsumori Chisato skirt. Sure, why not. They’re both on sale so go out and buy them, people, so I don’t have to be tempted.

I was born in Portland, Oregon, grew up in the suburbs, and didn’t move away from the state until four years ago. This necklace sums up the special place Portland has in my heart.

These candied walnuts are delicious, although I took the advice of many reviewers and used maple syrup instead of corn syrup.

I want to wear several of these outfits. If I steal one of Steven’s wolf shirts, I’ve got nearly all of the pieces to replicate Hyoni Kang’s look. I don’t know if I can jump like that, though.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    January 9, 2010 11:07 am

    Ahh! I’ve been procrastinating on doing some DIY screenprinting. Instead of making my own screens, I bought some photoez from Circuit Bridge – cbridge.com
    It was about $10 for 4 screens that are 4×5 inches (I think) and they already have emulsion on them. You only need a printed out black and white copy and the sun sets the emulsion in a few minutes, and then you wash it out. I’ll let you know how it goes once I get the chance to do it. I also bought some red and black versatex ink, so it was about $20 all together… crossing my fingers that it turns out well!

  2. January 9, 2010 11:44 am

    Oh, are they the same as these? I’ve been wondering how those work, too, so yeah, let me know how they turn out! What images do you want to print?

  3. Alex permalink
    January 17, 2010 10:47 pm

    Yes! Those are the ones!
    But I felt like being a bit more daring/stupid and *just* got the screens. I’m going to have to rig up some sort of frame for them and figure all of that out.
    I have no idea what to print yet; my best friend is a really fantastic sketch-er and I’ve just emailed her to send me some sketches to use. I will post all about it on G* when I finally get to doing it!

Leave a Reply

