Skip to content

Weekend Wear

January 22, 2010

With all the dreary weather we’ve been having lately, I was feeling the need for some bright, beautiful color. My closet supplied this dress, which I originally bought for a wedding I attended last year. I toned it down and gave it the appearance of a skirt with the cardigan on top. You’d be forgiven for thinking that I matched my umbrella with my outfit, but I really didn’t! This is my normal umbrella, which I deliberately bought in a bright color to help it stand out from the standard-issue black umbrellas that everyone else seems to carry.

Yep, the shoes and tights don’t actually match. The tights are more of a bright pink than a red. I like the effect, but I’ll admit that I had to change into boots for walking about in the rain.

This vintage cardigan has amazing details. The metal buttons are quite intricate (and they’re all there–I just missed one!), and the little bar on the bottom right is a metal label that says the brand, “Geiger.” Apparently they’re still around and making wool sweaters.

Have a great weekend, and if your part of the world is getting hit by nasty weather, stay warm and dry. (The rest of you–enjoy what you’ve got!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 10:55 am

    You look gorge (and also kind of regal, I can’t quite explain it) in pink and navy.

    • January 23, 2010 1:27 pm

      Aww, thanks! It’s not a combo I wear often, but maybe I should.

  2. January 23, 2010 8:23 pm

    Love those jewel-toned tights, darling! Thanks for sharing and reading. Looking forward to more of your outfits. xoxo

    – JT Paradox
    http://www.thesfstyle.com/

  3. January 23, 2010 8:39 pm

    Wow! You are really beautiful! I love this color palette! Thank you so much for your tips and information about the skin. You know, it really did shape my personality as a teenager, keeping me like a turtle in my shell. I have only VERY recently (my 30th birthday last september) decided to just step out of that shell and let it go. I couldn’t waste anymore time being invisible.

    By the way, that is a very lovely cardigan and those shoes are amazing, even if you did change into boots (which I am sure where lovely too!)

    • January 24, 2010 1:27 pm

      Second Skin, I know EXACTLY what you mean about trying to be invisible due to bad skin. I’m so glad that you’ve decided not to let that hold you back anymore, because you have great style and I really enjoy your blog.

      And thank you–you’re really too sweet!

Leave a Reply

