Skip to content

Tutorial Tuesday: Bowtie

January 26, 2010

I’ve been seeing a lot of bows lately in my fashion-site browsing, so I thought I’d jump on that bandwagon and make my own. Digging deep into my scrap pile I came up with this lovely polka-dotted fabric left over from a long-ago reconstructed shirt. So I guess that technically makes this a recycling project. You could make it with salvaged fabric or a bit of new–it really doesn’t take much. If you’re better at hand-sewing than I am (see my messy stitches below), you could even do this entirely by hand, though I used a sewing machine. It’s a quick, fun little project and tomorrow I’ll show you various ways to wear your new creation.

Materials:
Fabric (an 11″ by 5″ piece and a 2″ by 5″ piece)
Needle
Thread
Pinback
Sewing machine (optional)

Methods:
1. Cut your fabric into an 11-by-5 inch piece and a 2-by-5 inch piece.

2. Iron your fabric if necessary and fold both pieces lengthwise, wrong sides together.

3. Sew along the long edge of each piece and turn them inside out, then iron them flat with the seam centered.

4. On the side with the seam, fold both of the short edges of your large piece of fabric toward the center, overlapping them by about an inch. Pin in place and sew down the center.

5. Take your smaller piece of fabric, and seam side down, wrap it a couple of times around the line you just sewed on your large piece. Scrunch up your bow to make it look good.

6. Pin everything in place and trim the smaller piece of fabric if necessary, then on the back hand-sew to secure the small piece to the large piece.

7. Add a pinback and hand-sew or glue it in place.

8. You’re done!

Tune in tomorrow when I take this baby for a spin!

Looking for more tutorials and DIY projects? Check out my What I Made page!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 7:32 pm

    That is super cute and I love all the styling ideas! Thanks so much, I’ll be linking.

  2. February 27, 2010 4:55 pm

    hey! I have linked you to my blog.
    love magda

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial Tuesday: Shirt to Scarf, Headband, and Bowtie « Transient Expression

Leave a Reply

