Skip to content

Weekend Wear

February 8, 2010

Ah, the perils of the Anthropologie sale section. I was there ostensibly looking for a dress for the party I attended this weekend. This one seemed too casual for the event, but it’s so darling that I had to get it. It has wooden buttons! It was also the last one left, and in my size! Clearly it was meant to be.

As you may have noticed, I wear a lot of thrifted items. Even when I wear something new, like this dress, I always mix in secondhand accessories. Belts, especially, are cheap and plentiful at thrift stores, so I have quite a collection. They can really make all the difference in an outfit, I think.

It may look warm and sunny in these photos, but it was actually quite chilly, so I also accessorized with wool tights, a wool cardigan, and a vintage faux fur collar. For all of you folks on the east coast who are snowed in, however, I’m sorry for taunting you with our spring-like weather. Compared to “snowmageddon,” I can’t really complain.

When I was walking down the street wearing this, a girl in the backseat of a car stopped at a light opened her window and yelled, “I like your outfit!” Being yelled at by men in cars is gross to me, but I definitely appreciated this compliment.

Yep, I’m dancing! Wanna make somethin’ of it?

Hmm, I should probably iron this dress….

Dress: Anthropologie (sale rack)
Tights: SmartWool, Nordstrom Rack
Shoes: Dolce Vita
Earrings: A gift
Watch: Nixon
Everything else is thrifted. I modified the faux fur collar to add a fastener. I’m adding vintage or sterling silver findings and embellishments to several faux fur collars that I plan to list on etsy later this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

