Skip to content

Links I Like

February 21, 2010

My skin was feeling dry and flaky (and breaking out worse than in recent memory–thanks stress and hormones), so I tried out this moisturizing honey mask. Actually I combined it with another recipe from a book I have and I ended up using about 1 Tbsp honey, 1 tsp olive oil, and a whole egg. It certainly seemed to soothe my skin, though it smelled kind of like mayo.

Bonnie-and-Clyde chic for Harper’s Bazaar? Oh my, yes please. Faye Dunaway may be my spring fashion muse.

After a weekday lunch at Ti Couz, my craving for crepes has been ignited. I made crepes from this recipe and filled them with sauteed garlic and red onion, wilted spinach, and feta cheese for dinner, and cinnamon-spiced apples for dessert. It was super tasty, and now I’m looking for more recommendations for what to put in crepes. How do you fill yours?

How to Live 100 Years. Sign me up! I can’t do anything but giggle at the headline “Slowing Aging … With Semen,” though. Um, laughter is the best medicine? Via Gala Darling.

The cuteness of Gemma Correll’s drawings kills me.

This leather link necklace tutorial is awesome, and you can definitely make it out of other materials, including a bicycle inner tube!

100 Ways You Can Start Loving Yourself Right Now, by the inimitable Gala Darling. Treat yourself right!

I hope you had a great weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 5:25 pm

    thanks for linking that leather necklace. it’s great! i could see it turning out really awesome using old leather purses and such from thrift stores.

    • February 21, 2010 5:38 pm

      I know, so many possibilities, right? Leather pants and skirts would work for recycling, too (but leather jackets are usually too expensive at least around here).

  2. October 6, 2011 6:09 pm

    I wanted to comment on the advantages of using natural homemade skin masks and moisturizers. They are fresh like fresh foods and they do not have preservatives which are dangerous to the skin.

  3. October 6, 2011 6:14 pm

    Here is an example of a honey skin recipe

    Honey-Coconut Oil Moisturizer

    Ingredients:

    1 tsp honey
    1 Tbsp coconut oil
    1 tsp lemon juice

    Instructions:

    Mix all the ingredients together.

    This can be used as a deep moisturizing treatment for dry skin. Apply it to your skin. Allow it to remain one for a minimum of 30 minutes. You can even leave it on your skin for several hours, if needed, depending on the condition of your skin.

    Refrigerate any unused portion. Do not keep for more than several days.

Leave a Reply

