Skip to content

Weekday Wear

March 17, 2010

I know I pledged to neglect this blog, and I’ll get back to that soon, I promise. But this afternoon I finished a draft of my dissertation and sent it to my advisor, so I put on a dress and went for a relaxing walk in the sun. It was such a gorgeous day outside that I almost didn’t need the cardigan.

And what better day than St. Patrick’s to debut this green dress? It definitely ensured that no one would threaten to pinch me. This dress was a gift, and it made me realize that I don’t buy or own very much green clothing. It’s not that I dislike it, I just don’t gravitate towards it. Maybe I’m in a color rut, like back in high school where I hardly wore anything other than blue. Does anyone else do that, go through color phases with their wardrobe?

Check out the front and back cutouts (and ignore the tag sticking out, oops):

Dress: Topshop
Cardigan: Marc by Marc Jacobs (Nordstrom Rack)
Shoes: Thrifted
Bag: H&M
Sunglasses: Thrifted
Watch: Nixon

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 11:09 pm

    Hi, I’m a new reader to your blog, woo!
    I happen to listen to that podcast your boyfriend is on, he tweeted with your username and I ended up here. :D
    I love your style and craftiness! It’s been super helpful in getting the motivation to go through my closet. Which is full of things I wore in high school that I just dont care for anymore.
    I bookmarked you the moment I read the men’s shirt-dress tutorial, I’ve been on the lookout for suitable shirts since (and hopefully will find soon, seeing as the weather is becoming perfect for that dress). You’ve pretty much inspired me to clean the dust off of the sewing machine. :)

    In regards to this post, that dress is awesome. I love the neckline. I also get stuck in color ruts involving blue. I guess I blame jeans.. which I already rely on far too much. I like skirts but I’m always a bit apprehensive about putting them together with other things.

    • March 18, 2010 9:16 am

      Ren, that’s funny that you found my blog through the podcast Steve is on. I figured there wouldn’t be any overlap of our readership. I’m so glad you’ve found my posts helpful and like the tutorials! I’m all about busting out the sewing machine, so if I’ve managed to inspire you to sew that’s awesome. Let me know when you make the dress–I’d love to see it. Why are you apprehensive about putting skirts together with other things? Thanks so much!

  2. March 19, 2010 3:52 pm

    Yeah, I’m probably one of the few outliers. Being a woman who loves both video games and fashion. :P
    As far as the skirts thing goes, I have a bad habit buying things without thinking about what I’ll wear them with, therefore most of my skirts are patterned or some crazy color thats hard to match. That and I went through a poofy skirt phase (had a petticoat and everything)… I should probably tailor those a bit, make them less ballerina-ish.

Leave a Reply

