Skip to content

Tutorial Tuesday: Stenciled Pillowcases

March 23, 2010

This week I actually started the tutorial days ago and planned to be done with it early. HAH. This week’s tutorial has involved a lot of failure. Honesty, if this were just for me, I probably would have given up. But I persevered because I already whiffed last week’s tutorial and didn’t want to make a habit of it. Besides, it’s character-building.

My first attempt at a project was a complete disaster and time-sink and I aborted the whole thing. If I ever revisit it I’ll tell you the story. This project that you see here involved one attempt with the Simply Spray soft fabric paint, and I didn’t like the results for stenciling, plus I used regular printer paper and some of the paint bled through. So I re-cut the stencils with thicker paper and used the Simply Spray stencil paint instead, with much better results. Still not perfect, though. I’m not sure why, but there was still some bleeding beneath the edges of my stencils. My best guess is that I didn’t use enough spray adhesive on the stencil.

I want to thank Simply Spray for the paint. After I posted my stenciled leggings project I got an e-mail asking me if I’d like to try more of their spray paints. Of course I jumped at the chance, and a few weeks later I received a nice gift in the mail. I’m just sorry it took me this long to use some of it. Expect more projects involving fabric spray paints sometime in the near future….

Materials:
Two new cotton pillowcases (I’d recommend against stenciling one you’ve used, just because it may have oils from use that will interfere with the paint.)
Stencil Spray Paint
Printer
Thick Paper (cardstock or photo paper)
Xacto knife
Scissors
Tape
Newspaper
Spray adhesive

Methods:
1. Design your type. Because I couldn’t get the fonts I wanted to work on my computer, I ended up using cooltext.com to design a banner and saved it as a jpg file. You can also use my text, if you want. Just click on the files and enlarge to save them full size.


2. Print out your text and cut it out with an xacto knife or scissors. To save printer paper I printed everything on two pages. Piece the text together with tape, if necessary. Don’t forget about any “islands”–the space in the middle of the D, R, and A, in my case. Cut those out, too.

3. Spray the back side of the text with spray adhesive. Follow the instructions on your adhesive for a temporary bond. **If you have stupid cats, don’t let them walk across the stencil. They will get it stuck to their paws and make a mess of things. Trust me on this one.**

4. Place cardboard inside the pillowcases to protect against seepage to the other side. Center your stencil on the pillowcase and press it firmly, making sure that everything adheres well.

5. Cover everything outside of the stencil with newspaper and tape it down.

6. Spray away! Follow the directions on the paint for best results.

7. When your paint is dry, carefully take off the stencil and check out your work!

My paint is still wet (I already took off the stencils–do as I say, not as I do, right?), but later I will take a picture of the pillowcases with actual pillows inside.

Edited to add this photo of the pillowcases on my bed:

Looking for more tutorials and DIY projects? Check out my What I Made page!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 11:50 pm

    It’s so cool!
    I would love to make some that says: His side, her side.

    =)

    Love your blog!

    • November 4, 2010 11:55 pm

      Kelly, you totally should! I bet they’d be really cute. And thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

