Skip to content

Serendipity

March 28, 2010

Friday morning in my “Links I Like” list, I included a link to adorable lightbulb terrariums, and that evening I had dinner with the woman who wrote the tutorial. I had no idea until it somehow came up during drinks after dinner. Crazy, right? Turns out she lives in San Francisco and is a friend-of-a-friend. She gave me some insider tips on how to successfully make a terrarium, though she sells them on etsy and tiny terra if you don’t want to make your own.

Yesterday Steven and I went for two long walks (more on that later), and the universe smiled on me once again. On the way down Valencia Street we noticed that someone had hung a discarded chandelier from a tree branch over the sidewalk. It looked cool, but the best part was the three large intact (the fourth was broken) globe lightbulbs that looked perfect for a terrarium. You better believe I stood on my tippytoes in the middle of the sidewalk and unscrewed them all while well-dressed dinner-goers filed by me. They were frosted bulbs, but a certain expert told me that the white coating could be washed off, and she was right. So now I’ve got three lightbulbs waiting to be planted. I think a trip to Ocean Beach to procure sand is in my future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

