Skip to content

Weekday Wear

April 21, 2010

I love this shirt! I can’t go on about how much I love it without sounding full of myself, however, because it’s my own creation. I found an XL off-white silk blouse at a thrift store, snipped off the horrible shoulder pads, and dyed it. How did I get the speckly, mottled dye pattern? By using grape Kool-Aid powder to do the dying! I was thinking of doing a tutorial, but decided against it since I basically just followed these instructions. It was surprisingly easy. The only downside is that the shirt still smells a bit like artificial grape flavor, which is one flavor I can’t stand. I think it’s because it’s often used in children’s cough syrups, and I often had summer coughs (an aside: Chinese people I know told me that cough syrup in China is root beer flavored, so the idea of drinking root beer soda was revolting to them). Anyway, I’m guessing that the grape smell will dissipate over time, and hopefully so will the wrinkles (though that might require some ironing on my part).

Trying to hush my loud cat.

Blouse: Thrifted and altered
Skirt: Street fair
Tights: Sock Dreams
Belt: Thrifted
Boots: Pour La Victoire
Earrings: Made by me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

