Skip to content

Weekday Wear: Neutral Territory

April 30, 2010

It’s pretty easy to get stuck in a style rut, which is where I’ve been for a long time. So today I forced myself out of my comfort zone with an outfit many would consider unflattering. I knew it when I was putting it on, but I forced myself to wear it anyway just to try something new. Pleated, cropped pants plus a very neutral color palette are not something I wear often, if ever. These men’s pants were $1 on the sale rack at one of my favorite thrift stores, so I figured I’d give them a try, and I’m glad I did despite their ability to make me look bigger than I am. At the very least they were very comfortable, although I’m not sure if I’ll wear them again.

What was NOT comfortable was socks with sandals. I had to take the socks off before I went walking because my feet slid around too much. How do people manage to combine the two? Special shoe inserts? If you know, please share.

Top: Stoop sale
Necklace: SCRAP
Cardigan: Thrifted
Pants: Thrifted
Belt: Thrifted
Socks: Anthropologie sale section
Shoes: Dolce Vita
Nailpolish: Sinful Colors in Mint Apple

P.S. I just stumbled across these Anthropologie pants which look startlingly similar to my $1 pair, even down to the color.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    Wow! Honestly, this is probably my second favroite outfit you have ever posted on here, coming after that mint chiffon blouse and leather skirt business. xoxo.

    • May 3, 2010 4:36 pm

      Really? Thanks! After I posted this Steven told me that he didn’t make a negative comment about the pants because he didn’t want to hurt my feelings, but after he read this he felt free to tell me he didn’t like them. Boys just don’t get fashion :-P

  2. Andrea permalink
    May 26, 2010 6:45 pm

    I like this outfit a lot too. Maybe it looks better in photos than in real life? Either that or SteveBob is mistaken.

    • May 27, 2010 6:02 pm

      Thanks Andrea! Maybe I just filtered out the most unflattering angles. The comments make me want to wear the pants again, though, Steven be damned.

  3. princessrainbowflower permalink
    April 1, 2011 2:38 pm

    this is such a cute outfit. (you’re right, very anthro!)
    I love that there’s a city-scape behind you as well.

    check out my blog! http://fortheloveofnike.com/

Leave a Reply

