Skip to content

Weekday Wear: Black and White and Read All Over

May 12, 2010

My outfit today reminded me of that old elementary school joke about newspapers, which just doesn’t work in print. Wanting both to experiment with mixing patterns and wear the shirt I made yesterday, I put together as much black and white as I could manage. I even wore my black and white sunglasses when I went out, but forgot them for the rooftop photos (hence the squinting).

Shirt: Thrifted and altered by me
Blazer: Gap.com
Skirt: Thrifted (but new with tags from Target)
Shoes: Kenneth Cole Reaction
Jewelry: Thrifted
Belt: Thrifted
Tights: Target
Coat: Crossroads

(In case you’re curious about the bra situation with the cut-out back shirt, I was lazy and wore a regular bra, knowing that I would keep my jacket on when I was out.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawna permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:52 pm

    I have to admit I get scared when it comes to mixing patterns but you pulled it off ! I love that you added subtly bits of color (your shoes and your headband) You look great! :-)

    • May 20, 2010 12:08 am

      Thanks Shawna! Yeah, I’ve been scared of mixing patterns, too, but I’m trying to get better at it. I think it helps to start simple, like with black and white.

  2. May 12, 2010 6:50 pm

    I like the white chain link necklace.

Leave a Reply

