Skip to content

June 23, 2010

Yesterday evening I was walking around my neighborhood and noticed a little park that I’d seen before but never actually been inside. I wandered in past the playground to find a sweet little flower garden and a community vegetable garden. After poking around a bit, I sat on a bench and wrote a text message, and then decided I should probably head home. But when I got to the back gate, I realized that it was locked. Not having been there before, I thought maybe the back gate was always locked, so I headed back the way I came, only to find the front gate padlocked, too. I appeared to be locked in, and a search for an alternate exit confirmed that the only way out was over the fence. Fortunately, it wasn’t a very tall fence, maybe 7 or 8 feet at the most, but I had to climb on top, kick my feet over, and jump to the ground. Luckily I was wearing jeans and fairly flat shoes, so I didn’t kill myself jumping to the ground. I did, however, manage to badly bruise the top of my foot when I hit it on a post on top of the fence. Other than the bruised foot, the whole thing was just kind of funny. Aren’t they supposed to check parks before they lock them up, to make sure no one is inside? Anyway, the reason I mention this is that a bruised foot means no heels until it heals. That’ll teach me to play ninja in San Francisco parks.

Dress: Urban Outfitters
Cardigan: Marc by Marc Jacobs
Tights: Target
Shoes: Thrifted
Belt: Thrifted
Necklace: Made by me

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

