Skip to content

Ruffled

June 26, 2010

This has very little to do with my outfit (except that it was on my mind while I was taking the photos), but I’m trying to work on my posture. Have you ever noticed that taller-than-average women tend to stoop? At least for me, I think it’s a fear of towering over people and unnecessarily standing out. Maybe if you’re really tall it isn’t a factor, but for me it’s just easier to slouch a bit and blend in, which I know is a terrible instinct. Not only is it bad for my self-esteem and posture, but it’s lousy for my back muscles. So I’ve been trying to do stretches and exercises to strengthen my upper back muscles, and at least so far the sore muscles help remind me to remember to stand up straight. Any other advice for better posture?

In other news, I was thrilled to find this cream ruffled blouse at Buffalo Exchange the other day. Although I’m on a self-imposed shopping moratorium (except, of course, for essentials like food), I still have credit at Buffalo so it’s the only place I’m allowed to shop. Lately all shopping e-mails are immediately deleted without even being read, so I figure I deserve some kind of reward for my austerity measures. I have a feeling that this top will soon be making many appearances in my summer outfits, so it seems worth it.

Top: Buffalo Exchange
Skirt: Nordstrom Rack
Tights: Target
Shoes: Chie Mihara, eBay
Necklace: Street Fair
Bracelet: Made by me

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 7:37 pm

    You look so fabulous! I love the pretty ruffles on your shirt!

    My advice for good posture? (Tho I often have trouble following it myself…)

    Try to touch your shoulderblades together at your back, and engage the tendons in your neck. (Think “ballet pose”.) Your shoulders will be so far back that your hands will sit almost at the backs of your thighs! Also – try to walk without allowing your head to bob up and down – i.e., absorbing the shock of each step with your legs, like a runway model. It forces your hips to swing from side to side and it makes you look like you are gliding across the floor – and thus, taller. I have to force myself to consciously do it – but when I do, I sure get a lot of attention!
    xoxo
    Carly

    • June 27, 2010 12:30 am

      Carly, thanks for the compliment, and the posture tips. I’ll definitely give ’em a try!

Leave a Reply

