Skip to content

Studs and Silk

July 1, 2010

Like a lot of things in my closet, this shirt needed to gradually work its way into my wardrobe. I thrifted it a while back but have had trouble figuring out exactly how to wear it. There was no doubt, however, that I needed to own a studded army-green silk top with a zipper and bustier styling. Who doesn’t, right?

I wore this outfit while I attempted to make a cake. This should not have been a difficult undertaking, because I’ve made dozens of cakes before, and this one wasn’t even from scratch. I think that’s where it went wrong, however, because I was using a boxed yellow cake mix that I found in the back of the cabinet, and although I couldn’t find a “use by” date, I think it must have been years old. It totally failed to rise and came out of the oven looking more like a cookie than a cake. It didn’t taste very good, either, otherwise I might’ve eaten it anyway, but into the garbage it went. Not the highlight of my day, that’s for sure. I’m guessing the leavening agents in the mix had gone bad. Now I’ve got mashed up strawberries and (unwhipped) whipping cream and nothing to put them on. Ah well, there are worse problems to have.

Top: Thrifted
Skirt: Tufi Duek, thrifted
Shoes: Deena & Ozzy, Buffalo Exchange
Necklace: Made by me
Belt: Thrifted
Watch: Nixon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

