Skip to content

Links I Like

July 16, 2010
tags:

Love this adorable bow belt tutorial! I can think of a dozen outfits that would look cuter with a bow belt.

I’m mesmerized by the creepy/cool artwork of Fuco Ueda in this post from Painfully Hip.

Another good fashion tutorial for a knock-off of an Anthropologie top.

I’ll take a pair of the oxfords and a satchel from Goldenponies, please.

Did you know that you can print on fabric with your inkjet printer? I had no idea, but this post shows you how. Amazing!

If you’re in San Francisco there’s an Indie Mart Design and DIY Street Fair on Sunday. Sounds like fun!

Have a great weekend, no matter what you do!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 11:56 am

    Rachel,

    ack! I didn’t know anyone was actually going to do anything but skim that nanodrop part…or else I would have been a bit more specific/intelligent about it; I was kind of just complaining about research…pissed off at myself and various e. coli strains (first real research experience for me this summer, still getting used to it). As for the DNA reading, it was only slightly on the negative side; I used EB to blank and the concentration was ~ negative 2ng/ul so it was decently close to zero. Anyway, mentor thinks I did the midi prep wrong but I think it’s because we grew up the cells at 30 degrees when they express at 37degrees overnight…who knows? Pfffft. Anyway, SO GLAD YOU LEFT A LINK. I’m happy to find your blog and bookmarking it for reads. You’re so crafty!

    PS. maybe I should try my hand at making a bow belt because the Asos ones I’ve bought all come loose really really easily…hrm.
    PPS. so are you working on a post doc? working in industry? I’m curious!

    • July 17, 2010 12:17 pm

      If your culture looked nice and cloudy then you should have been able to get plenty of DNA even if you grew it at 30 instead of 37. Don’t worry, it’s pretty easy to screw up a DNA prep, especially when you’re first starting out. I’ve definitely failed at my fair share. We liked to make fun of this one post-doc in my lab because he told a student to grow bacteria in the wrong antibiotic 3 times before he realized why it wasn’t growing. You would think that after the first fail he would’ve checked his construct. Ah, there are so many ways to mess up in research.

      I’m not doing a post-doc. After all of that schoolin’ I decided to leave research and try something else. I’m looking for a biotech job and trying to figure out my life. *sigh* Maybe I’ll put my crafty skills to good use somehow :-)

Leave a Reply

