Skip to content

Lake Merritt

July 23, 2010

Even though I’ve lived in San Francisco for nearly five years, before yesterday I had never been to Lake Merritt, in nearby Oakland. Oh, I’d heard it mentioned plenty of times, but I’d just never made it down there. But now that I’ve been there I can say that it seems like a lovely little lake, populated with geese and joggers. That’s where I wore my interpretation of the “Utilitarian Ruffles” look. Although I would have liked to have worn just the green jacket, even in Oakland it’s not warm enough for that, so I had to add my trench coat on top.

Green jacket: Free on a curb
Skirt (actually a slip): Flea market
T-shirt: American Apparel
Trench: Marc by Marc Jacobs, Crossroads
Belt: Thrifted
Shoes: Dolce Vita
Bag: H&M
Sunglasses: Buffalo Exchange
Watch: Nixon
Jewelry: Either borrowed from the boyfriend, or really old
Phone: Motorola Droid

P.S. After walking around at the lake we saw Inception at the Grand View Theater. I thought it was quite good, and pretty visually stunning. Plus, Steven and I had to guffaw at each other when Ellen Page’s character talked about “designing levels” because he is a video game level designer. Have you seen it? What did you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 1:12 pm

    Omagash, not alone!

    Me TOO!

    I have also lived in the Bay Area all my life and never been to that Lake. I still haven’t. A year ago, I didn’t even know there was any other body of water other than that murky bay.

    Inception was excellent</em. True Story: a week later, the group I went to go see it with was still throwing around conspiracy theories about Nolan's film genius. I don't want to spoil it for others, but I say this–we question if the movie ever showed us reality at all. All 7 of us agree: we have got to see it again.

    So excited to have found another creator from SF area! You got yourself another reader.

    -roe.

    • July 28, 2010 7:00 pm

      Roe, you should go! It’s a nice lake, and worth visiting, even just to say you went. Yay, I love finding other bloggers (especially the crafty kind) in my neck of the woods.

      Inception has really stuck with me since I saw it and I’ve been thinking about it off and on for the last several days. There are so many different ways to interpret that movie, aren’t there? On the funny (and stupid) side, my boyfriend linked me to these yesterday, which cracked me up: http://i.imgur.com/wSrX1.jpg and http://i.imgur.com/qrwRq.png

Leave a Reply

