Skip to content

July 29, 2010

Can we talk about the fact that my hair is still pretty red? Don’t get me wrong, I actually like the color, but I hate the fact that I have roots, and I’m not willing to dye it again right now. At least now I know how fast my hair grows (about 1 cm a month, which is slower than average). The SEMI-permanent color was supposed to wash out after about 6 weeks, but that hasn’t happened seeing as I got it dyed in March. I’ve been double-shampooing with the harshest crappy shampoo I have lying around, in hopes that that will hasten the dye removal. Anybody have any tips for getting red dye out of your hair, or am I stuck just growing it out or re-dying it?

Everything is thrifted except for the shoes, which are Chie Mihara, the tights, which are of unknown origin, and the watch, which is by Nixon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 11:20 pm

    Hello,
    I think your hair looks good the way it is. But if you must change it, I suppose re-dyeing is best as it won’t damage your hair that much as removing. Also, you have a very cute blog!

    Jenn
    http://coffee-reverie.blogspot.com

    • July 29, 2010 11:30 pm

      Jenn, thank you!

      The only part about my hair that I mind is that it’s two different colors. If it were one or the other I’d be fine with it. I’ll probably just have to wait for it to fade out, though.

  2. Sarah permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:21 pm

    I had this EXACT same thing happen (even the dyeing it red in march thing!) What I did to help lighten the color was mix crushed vitamin c tablets with shampoo to a paste. Leave it in your hair under a shower cap for about 10 minutes then rinse. You can repeat if needed.

    Good luck!

    • July 31, 2010 11:18 am

      Sarah, thanks! I guess we both learned a lesson about how stubborn red hair dye is. I’ll have to give the vitamin C a try.

Leave a Reply

