Skip to content

Umami Midori

August 4, 2010

Months ago a friend lent me this book, Umami Midori (actually, the bilingual and helpful Carly of Chic Steals just informed me that it’s actually called Umami’s Bags and Midori’s Furoshikis), which I desperately need to give back to her (if you’re reading this, thank you Karla and sorry for being so slow!). As far as I can tell, it’s actually part of a series on making bags, and though I can’t read Japanese and thus can’t follow the actual instructions, it has some inspiring DIY ideas for creative reuse of materials.

How about using a belt as a bag handle?

Another way to reuse leather: cut it into simple shapes like this one (or the one on the cover) and sew it into a bag. Although I have no idea if the book suggests using new or recycled leather. My boyfriend’s college Japanese does not extend to crafting terms, unfortunately. You can get a lot out of the pictures and diagrams, though.

If you read Japanese (or even if you don’t), you can buy this book or others in the series at Amazon Japan here, or I’ve seen it at Kinokuniya bookstores.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 10:00 pm

    Hi Rachel!
    I’m not sure if you got my earlier comment or if silly WordPress deleted it as spam….but thanks for posting this! The book looks so inspiring.
    If you need any help with the translations or have questions about processes, lmk! I’m bilingual in English & Japanese and I’ve worked as a translator and simultaneous interpreter before.

    xoxo
    Carly
    P.S. The book is actually called “Umami’s Bags and Midori’s Furoshikis.”

    • August 4, 2010 11:16 pm

      Hey Carly, thanks so much for the correct title and offer of help! I’ll definitely keep that in mind as I’d be thrilled to have translation of some of the techniques. It’s times like these that I love the internet :-)

      P.S. Yes, stupid WordPress put your first comment in the spam folder…yet it doesn’t catch some of the obvious actual spam. Sorry!

  2. Karla Z permalink
    August 5, 2010 2:44 pm

    Hey! Don’t worry about it — keep it as long as you like. (I still have your murderously adorable mameshiba book… I should give that back too!)
    Oh, btw: I have this pair of vintage boots from probably the 20s; they’re not really wearable for me (I did try), but I thought of you. Is that kind of thing totally outside of what you usually sell on etsy? (As in: should I send ’em in for you?)

    • August 6, 2010 11:11 am

      Hey Karla! Glad you’re enjoying the mameshiba book.

      I’ve been meaning to tell you, thanks for that shirt you sent me! And I’d definitely take the boots; they sound awesome.

      • Karla Z permalink
        August 6, 2010 6:31 pm

        Rock — I’ll get ’em to you somehow.

Leave a Reply

