Skip to content

Little Things

August 6, 2010

This is my tribute to the little things in life that make me happy lately.

*The tiny little clay toadstools I made out of polymer clay this week. Why? No reason, really, and I’m not even sure what I’m going to do with them. Some might be incorporated into a terrarium, but I’ve got a handful so I should do something with the rest. Want one?

*Eating the incredibly sweet little tomatoes that I’m growing on the roof deck of my building. They’re so much better than store-bought ones. And I grew them myself!

*Falling asleep with my boyfriend spooning me on one side, a cat on the other side, and another cat up above my pillow. I feel surrounded by love.

*The kind friends who have treated me while I’m unemployed.

*An empty sink with no dirty dishes left to be washed. Doesn't last long, though.

*A new episode of Mad Men on Monday nights (we don't have cable so we watch it online a day late). That show is soooo good.

*Long walks through San Francisco that last hours and include stops for delicious food.

*New friends on twitter! If you use twitter, send me a tweet!

*Inspiring photos of pretty things. I used to keep a giant inspiration folder on my computer, but now I bookmark everything here.

What’s making you happy lately?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Karla Z permalink
    August 6, 2010 6:32 pm

    Those are the cutest! I will demand one if I see you this weekend, see if I don’t!
    Also: I have the same phobia about wearing lipstick for no reason, but I can tell you with authority that you can pull it off.

    • August 7, 2010 9:43 am

      I will gladly give you one if I see you this weekend! If not, I don’t think Steven will mind being our delivery service.

      And it’s nice to know someone else has the same phobia. I bet you could pull it off, too.

  2. August 6, 2010 9:35 pm

    These little mushrooms are soooooooooooooooooooooooo CUTE! We have terrariums and that is such a fantastic idea for them! LOVE IT! Looks like the mushrooms would belong in Super Mario Brothers!
    xoThe Beckerman Girls

    http://BeckermanBitePlate.com

    • August 13, 2010 10:39 pm

      I think they were subconsciously Super Mario inspired! And thank you!

  3. Melissa permalink
    August 9, 2010 11:23 pm

    I love those mushrooms and want one [or three but not going to be greedy! lol] so bad! They’re adorable and would fit right in in my room.
    I’m the same with red lipstick. I can’t wear it. I can only wear colored lipgloss because I feel ridiculous in red lipstick!

    • August 10, 2010 4:42 pm

      Melissa (and anyone else): If you e-mail me I’ll definitely send you a few little toadstools! Send me at your mailing address at transientexpression@gmail.com All I ask in return is that you tell me what you’re going to do with them.

  4. August 12, 2010 10:11 pm

    #2 sounds just perfect.

    Happy? Happy…….I redid my room 3 months ago. Childhood OUT, starving young adult IN! I assembled my own bed and put up my own shelves. Everything else is thrifted. A weathered rocking chair I bought for $10.00 sits in the corner and there are green things that live around the room now. I finished it all this past weekend. Now when I come in, I love it so much I have to greet it: “Hello, my wonderful room. My, you are looking great today.”

    • August 13, 2010 10:43 pm

      Roe, that sounds awesome! Having a space that makes you happy to be in it makes all the difference, doesn’t it? Congratulations on finishing the project (and you’d better post pictures!).

  5. Ann Jacks permalink
    August 24, 2010 1:34 pm

    The mushrooms are adorable; save one for me. Love your webpostings! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

