Skip to content

Chocolate Attack

August 10, 2010


Drooling yet?

How about now? Does it make it better or worse if I tell you that those lumps in the chocolate puddles are walnuts and cacao nibs?

The idea of making these cookies was planted by a link to this recipe from 101 Cookbooks, but I actually used this recipe from Orangette, which is adapted from a recipe published in NY Magazine for Flourless Chocolate-Walnut Cookies. Though I haven’t tried the other two, they all look about equal, but the Orangette version got my vote with the addition of cacao nibs. I’d never actually had cacao nibs, but come on, how could bits of roasted cocoa beans not be good? I’ll willingly admit that these cookies were partly an excuse to buy a bag ‘o nibs. On their own merits, however, they were totally worth it. Slightly crispy on the outside, they taste much like the top quarter-inch of a rich, chewy brownie, with a little bit of crunch courtesy of the cacao nibs. It’s a good thing I halved the recipe, because having a full batch of these around would be hazardous to my health.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

