Skip to content

Romping

August 25, 2010

Although yesterday broke all kinds of heat records for the Bay Area, by the end of today I had to change out of this romper into a warmer outfit. I kind of hate the word “romper,” but I don’t know what else to call it. Onesie? Playsuit? Those are even worse. They sound like things only babies should wear, which I guess means that one-piece outfits should be left for small children. This one certainly does have one disadvantage: there are a lot of buttons to be undone just to use the bathroom. And when you’re trying to stay hydrated by drinking a lot of water, this becomes a hassle. I saw a street fashion photo of a lady wearing a black full bodysuit underneath a shirt, and I thought about how every time she needs to use the bathroom she must have to take off the shirt, then the bodysuit. I know, for some people fashion matters more than function. But practicality is important!


I didn’t purposely match my toenails to my outfit, it just worked out that way.

Everything is thrifted.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 12:20 pm

    I totally just laughed in my head about this.
    I have longjohns (the one piece ones) that I wear when I go snowboarding.
    And if you have to go to the bathroom you have to undo all the buttons and pull it down. and i always feel so weird being almost naked at that point. Is it just me? It’s like having to get naked to use the toilet. totally weirds me out. what if someone walks in?
    (I love the colors of this romper btw!)

    • August 26, 2010 12:44 pm

      Haha, it’s totally not just you, I also find it weird being so naked when wearing a one-piece! I bet the fear of being walked-in-on while half-naked on the toilet is universal.

Leave a Reply

