Skip to content

Travels

September 16, 2010

If you’re just tuning in, I’ve been crisscrossing the country lately, first on a trip to Seattle to visit my sister, then to New York City for a wedding. The whole rest of my family (parents plus my brother and my other sister), actually drove up from Portland to help me celebrate my birthday, leading to a delicious rooftop dinner of wine and grilled pizza at my sister Andrea’s apartment. She also slaved over what I can tell you with no reservations was the best chocolate cake I’ve ever had. Topped with chocolate ganache, it was moist and sinfully rich, and, I believe, from this recipe on Orangette. If you can’t indulge on your birthday, when can you, right?

Seattle was mainly overcast and even rained on us a little, something that should surprise no one who has spent any time in the Pacific Northwest. We took a nice ferry ride out to Bainbridge Island, though, and made friends with the Fremont Troll.

I have to confess that I didn’t take many photos in NYC, and those that I did were with my phone. We did a ton of walking, and I simply didn’t want to haul my big camera around all day. Since we were there for the wedding of a friend, we also didn’t do many tourist-y things and spent most of our time in the neighborhood where the people we knew lived, Bushwick. This means that I totally missed the fashion week hoopla in Manhattan, although it sounds like my friend Catie had enough adventures with that scene for the both of us. On our first night in town I spotted blogger Zana in red leather pants in Bushwick, and then a few nights later I saw blogger Tieka in Williamsburg, waiting on a street corner with a friend. Of course I was too chicken to say hi to either Zana or Tieka :-P

Most of the time I wore some variation of this outfit (in front of a Brooklyn mural). Recognize the skirt? It’s an army-green version of my high-waisted pencil skirt, which I can tell you right now I will be wearing the hell out of this fall. You’ll also probably get sick of seeing those brown boots, which were given to me by someone who received them as a gift, but they didn’t fit her. They’re perfect for me, though. The jacket is from H&M, but a Brooklyn barista told me that it looked like a biker gang had decided to make a jacket out of curtains. He assured me that he meant it as a compliment, but I’m not so sure, hah.

A friend works at a gallery that was showing work by Henry Darger, so we went for the opening night performance of the Vivian Girls.

While we were in the neighborhood we wandered around High Line Park. Atop a decommissioned train trestle on the West Side, it has lovely city views.

And then, of course, there was the wedding at the Conservatory in Central Park. The bride is a fashion designer, so of course she wore an amazing dress that she made herself. Don’t they look happy? Their ceremony was just for family and friends, and then they are planning to go to Connecticut to get legally married because gay marriage is legal there while it’s not in New York. I think that’s a really cool way to show support for gay marriage.

After the wedding we wandered around Grand Central Station and the main branch of the NY Public library, and then it was time for cupcakes decorated with handmade marzipan skulls and hatchets.

These are the best shots I have of the dress I wore to the wedding. It’s only the second time I’ve worn it, but it’s by Mara Hoffman and I bought it from Gilt before I was unemployed and started instantly deleting their sale emails. It has a great plunging back that you can kind of see in the mirror in the first photo. When I first got it, though, the sleeves were super tight and barely fit my arms, so rather than return it, I took out the seams halfway and gave them slits. I love having sewing skills.

This Bushwick Lucky Cat wasn’t so lucky, was it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

