Skip to content

Military Bag

November 5, 2010

The other day I got a Free People catalog in the mail. Unfortunately for companies who send me catalogs, I never actually buy anything from them, but I do flip through them for styling or DIY inspiration. This is especially true of the incredibly-overpriced Free People line, most of which I find too bohemian/hippie-ish for my taste anyway. But I did encounter an image of this bag that would be pretty easy to rig up yourself.

It’s called the “Creedence Messenger,” and it looks like a bunch of vintage belts cut up and riveted to a military-style messenger bag. You can pick up one of those cheap from a military surplus supply store. As the description confirms, “The vintage belts are individually chosen and then hand applied with brass rivets.” I suggest you “individually” select some belts from thrift stores, cut them up, distress them if you wish, and rivet them to the front flap of your bag. I’m sure it would cost much less than the $248 they want for this bag.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Vania permalink
    November 5, 2010 8:04 pm

    Thank you very much for the inspiration. I need a kick in the pants to get me DIYing and crafting again. This just might be the project to do it!

  2. Taylor permalink
    November 29, 2010 10:43 pm

    For Christmas Im looking around for a messenger bag, something my girlfriend has wanted for a while. At first I was just going to buy her one off of urban, but then I saw this and thought I could make it. The only thing I’m stuck on is exactly how I attach the belts to the bag, and I can’t tell how they do it from the picture. Any help would be much appreciated in my quest to give a creative and thoughful gift. Thanks

    • November 30, 2010 7:12 am

      Awww, that’s so sweet of you to make a present for your girlfriend. The belts are attached with rivets, which are like metal posts. If you search “leather rivets” you should be able to find them online, or a fabric or hobby store may have them. You might need a tool to attach them, too. Good luck!

  3. Taylor permalink
    November 30, 2010 10:28 am

    Thanks so much. Hope it works out.

Leave a Reply

