Skip to content

Adventures

December 8, 2010

Phew. I’m still alive, and I made it safely across the country from San Francisco, CA, to Cambridge, MA. Turns out it’s a long, tiring drive, and not especially scenic on the route we took. And moving two people, two cats, and all of your possessions across the entire country is hard work. In seven days we drove (in order) through California, Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts. But we’re here, and well on our way to being unpacked and settled into our new apartment. If you’ve commented lately I’m sorry if I haven’t replied; I’ve just had a lot going on.

A little over five years ago I moved to San Francisco from Portland, Oregon. For a long time after the move, I missed my hometown. I pined for the great indie cofeeshops and record stores, the many music venues where we spent evenings seeing shows, the used clothing shops, Powell’s Books, and most of all our friends. But gradually I began to discover the unique and wonderful things about San Francisco. It has museums that far eclipse Portland’s, and some of the food and coffee is even better. I’ve become acclimated to temperatures that always stay above 50 degrees, and the palm trees growing everywhere no longer faze me. And I met friends there, friends who didn’t replace the ones we’d left in Portland, but were just as amazing in other ways. Every time we went back home I got to visit the people and places we’d missed, but over time the thought of moving back there became less appealing as the people we knew moved out. San Francisco, where we had some of our favorite people and restaurants and shops, became home.

And now we’ve left. After spending my entire life on the West Coast, I now have a new home, in an area I never thought I’d live. There’s no doubt I’ll miss San Francisco (and especially the friends I made there), but there are certainly fantastic people and places to discover in Cambridge and Boston.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

