Skip to content

Tutorial Tuesday: (Recycled) Vinyl Wrist Cuff

April 20, 2010

Maybe you’ve noticed from my previous tutorials that I really like to use recycled/reused materials. I find it very gratifying to give something that might otherwise be thrown away a new life. In honor of Earth Day on Thursday today’s tutorial is made mainly of reused parts. This might sound gross to the more refined among you, but I actually found the belt out on the streets of San Francisco in a pile of clothes someone had put out on the curb. Yes, the wages of a graduate student combined with my environmental bent means that I am totally not above trashpicking. If you’re more squeamish about your materials, though, it should be easy enough to find an appropriate vinyl or leather belt at a thrift store (or even buy new material, if you must). The snake is a thrift store find, and I think he was originally part of a bolo tie. Maybe you’ve got an awesome clip-on earring or pendant gathering dust somewhere. Clips can often be broken off or snipped off with wire-cutters, leaving you with the perfect item to attach to a badass wrist cuff.


Materials

Vinyl, faux leather, or real leather
Brooch, earring, or other decoration
Metal snaps
Scissors
Needle
Heavy-duty thread

Methods

1. Cut out a piece of vinyl wide enough for your decoration and long enough to go around your wrist, plus at least 1.5 inches. My wrist is 6.5 inches, so I cut my vinyl 8 inches by 2 inches wide.

2. Add two sets of snaps to the ends of your vinyl. There are many types of snap setters, but I bought my snaps and setter from The Snap Source, and I recommend both.

3. Sew on your decorative bauble. How exactly you secure it will depend on your item. I sewed my snake down with two sets of stitches, but your attachment may vary.

Rock on!

Looking for more tutorials and DIY projects? Check out my What I Made page!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 6:46 pm

    This is so fun! Thanks for yet another great idea to spice up my accessories wardrobe. I’ll be linking.

  2. May 25, 2010 7:59 pm

    Great tutorial, thanks for sharing. I will be linking as our readers will love this project.

  3. December 13, 2010 7:50 pm

    Your Vinyl Wrist Cuff is an awesome inspiration! Many thanks for sharing. I would like to feature your designs at http://www.handmade-jewelry-club.com/

    Contact me here if you have a concern.

    Jane
    http://diylessons.org/

Trackbacks

  1. Vinyl Cuff · Jewelry Making @ CraftGossip

Leave a comment